Easter Craft: Resurrection Kites

I’m so excited about Easter. When I think about what God has done and is doing, redeeming and saving and making new life from death, I want to cry and sing and dance! The older I get, the more I see and experience suffering and see my own shortcomings, and the more exciting grace is, the more amazing it seems. And to think that all along, from the fall, God was planning this beautiful rescue of the world, of the people who had so quickly turned from Him and done so much damage…

God, you are wonderful. A good, good Father. A Redeemer, mighty to save us. All of our hope is in You!

This week as you look forward to the holiday, make this simple and pretty craft (found on kindercraze.com and makeandtakes.com) – or if you don’t have time to craft just grab a couple kites you already have and head to the park – to remember Jesus’ resurrection and God’s promise that one day we will join Him in the clouds!

For the Lord Himself will descend from heaven with a loud command, with the voice of an archangel, and with the trumpet of God, and the dead in Christ will be the first to rise. After that, we who are alive and remain will be caught up together with them in the clouds to meet the Lord in the air. And so we will always be with the Lord. 1 Thes 4:16-17

By His power God raised the Lord from the dead, and He will raise us also.1 Cor 6:14

I found two versions, slightly different. I like the cross center as a reminder of Jesus’ sacrifice. But either way, as your make this craft with a little one in your life and hang them in the window, talk about Jesus rose from the dead and that we too will live forever with Him if we trust in Him. Jesus defeated death and even if our bodies die here, He will make them alive again- and perfect and beautiful! Never to die again.

stained-glass-kites2

http://www.makeandtakes.com/colorful-stained-glass-kites

Stained-Glass-Kites-27

http://kindercraze.com/stained-glass-kite-decorations-made/

Have fun!

UPDATE:

My daughter and I did these together and I also tried it out with a class of preschoolers. Here is what I learned:

  1. Contact Paper works OK, but wasn’t super sticky with the construction paper so it tended to come unpeeled from it. Sandwiching the kite between two pieces also tended to come apart once the kite was hung up. I don’t know if the good souls on the sites above just had a better technique than I did, but I found it frustrating so I tried using a document laminating sheets instead and they worked great! Much better results. I used this (which I had on hand from a project 10 years ago, so you may need to look for another brand if this one isn’t still around.):
    docsealer
  2. Little ones love to overlap the tissue squares a lot so make sure you teach them to have smaller overlaps if possible. If there is too much overlap then the tissue will fall off especially if you’re using contact paper. This may be solved in the final “sandwiching” part if you do it right, but it did not work for me :-/
  3. If you try to glue the tissue down it will make your kite warp and crinkle, which isn’t a big deal except that it gives the contact paper one more reason not to stick to the construction paper. With the laminating sheets I did not have to use glue at all so it made a nice flat project.
  4. If you can get the contact paper to work, you can leave a border around the kite with the top piece and it sticks to the window just like a decal – no residue left when you peel it off! So that’s handy. But make sure your window is clean. Mine wasn’t (*chagrin*) so the contact paper was less contact-y! haha

Here are the kites my daughter and I made. Technical issues notwithstanding, I love the cheeriness they bring to our window! Note – the smaller one was made with the laminating sheet as opposed to the contact paper.

kites

He is risen indeed!

Save

Leave a Reply

