Mommy & Me Mondays: 1 Peter 1:15

Sorry for the late post. I’ve been battling a cold and the worst allergy season in memory (can I get an Amen?!)

But here, squeaking in at the end of the day, maybe some time to unwind with the ol’ marker set and a little one in the house.

I’ve been reading through the New Testament this past half a year and one theme that has been coming up a lot (in Paul’s letters) is how we live our lives. The reminder over and over is that God has given us His own Spirit, His righteousness, in our hearts. And we are to live like it. When I’m tired and hot and hungry I see how very unholy my thoughts and actions can be. All I can muster is ugly. But when I ask the Lord to shine through me, when I tell Him, “I’m angry. But I give you my anger. Now give me Your heart.” I am changed. That is the nature of repentance. Surrendering our desires for evil to Him, giving up our right to act however we feel, and asking for His good will, His good heart, instead. And if we keep giving ourselves to Him so that He can live through us, then we can be holy in all we do, because HE is.

Leave a Reply

